Speaking of Love and Hate

September 21, 2007

I had to convert my home studio to Linux (from Windows). I was getting BSODs, at least a couple times a day (and with Linux, nothing). The problem? Well, among other things, my Toneport does not work with Linux. Which, besides meaning I don’t have the convenience of quick amp modeling, means that I can’t use it for phantom power anymore (all my mics are dynamic).

Luckily, I have a TC Helicon VoiceLive which can also provide phantom power. Unluckily, it chooses that moment to stop working. I check online: hardware problem. So I had to send it to the factory to get repaired. Luckily, I don’t have to pay anything. Unluckily, it’s taken a couple months to get it to them, get it fixed, and get it back.

But … it’s coming back next week! Which means, I can finally finish the vocals for “Defeated By Evil”, a basically completed song (sans vox). Which is good, because it’s a rad song, I think. It is (possibly) the first in a new series paralleling the fall of the Byzantine Empire and, later, the Russian Orthodox church (at the hands of the Bolsheviks) with the Two Prophets of Revelation. “Defeated By Evil” is specifically about the fall of Constantinople.

TC Helicon VoiceLive

Leave a Reply

