The Archenemy of Decision is Cowardice

October 9, 2007

Cowardice and time always find a reason for not hurrying, for saying, “Not today, but tomorrow”, whereas God in heaven and the eternal say: “Do it today. Now is the day of salvation.”

… from Dare to Decide by Soren Kierkegaard.

Cowardice and pride, according to Kierkegaard, are born of the same impulse. The one is inaction revealed, the other is “leavened” to hide the inaction. To decide is to break free of both, to escape from the Slough of Despond that would hold us back from Christ. Of course, to make the wrong decision is a danger, as well. Cowardice is not the only evil. And yet, the clear icy-cold freedom and “aliveness” of rising out of the monotony and sameness and conformance of the world, to say, “I choose to follow Christ!”

How can we choose to follow Christ this week, and defeat the impulse that says, “there’s plenty of time to follow God tomorrow, next year, in ten years” … ?

3 Responses to “The Archenemy of Decision is Cowardice”

  1. Lee Says:

    So Nike stole its slogan from Kierkegaard?!

    (Sorry for the complete tangent you can delete it if you wish.)

    I like what I’ve read of Kierkegaard, though my reading of him has in no way been extensive. I can see why you relate to him, Ben.

    One way I’ve been trying to become better at choosing to follow Christ has been in working on specific memory verses which I’ve spent not a little time meditating upon, and which are geared toward helping me gain victory and make good choices in various areas of my life.

  2. Ben Says:

    Yeah, I like SK a lot … he’s a balancer, and I can understand that. He’s also very excited about the gospel, but not in a stuffy, academic, or polemic way, but in a way that makes it seem as new and revolutionary as it was when John the Baptist first said, “Repent! The Kingdom of God is at hand!”

    I should probably memorize more scripture. I have a program on my palm to do it, but it’s probably been a year since I’ve used it. I know it’s still valuable for the meditation aspect, but it’s hard to find the impetus when you can always just search for the verse when you think of it.

  3. Lee Says:

    Except when you see something tempting, are driving down the road, are taking a shower, etc., etc.


Leave a Reply

