Edification?!

October 26, 2007

In response to a comment from Danny: “I think theological discussions like this are valuable, but, man, are we really spurring each other on to love and good deeds here?”

I understand that conversations like this can have limited utility. For me, though, getting back into this blogging stuff (which is entirely your fault, btw) has been almost a spiritual resurgence. I feel like engaging with God through thought and engaging with others on spiritual issues like I haven’t felt since I officially burned out of missions and West Hills (with a few brief exceptions, like my visits from Nathan).

I know that I often move these things into an esoteric and sometimes purely intellectual plane — but, truth be told, I toss out a lot of stuff that nobody responds to. It seems like the hot-button issues are the only ones that get a response sometimes.

I am sorry you are having a stressful week, and I have been praying for you. I have worries for my future in my own life, as well … in fact, when I happened upon your comment, that’s exactly what I was thinking about. Unfortunately, I would not know what’s going on in your life if it wasn’t for stuff like this blog. I am totally open to modification of how we do things, if we can lead this “project” into more edifying territory. I know you’re probably too busy — but if we could get comments to this post on how our blog interactions could be more edifying, I would love that.

3 Responses to “Edification?!”

  1. dslavich Says:

    How about we each do a weekly personal update post, or something in that vein?

  2. Lee Says:

    I wouldn’t say that all this blogging has been a spiritual resurgence for me – by God’s grace, I’ve been experiencing a spiritual resurgence for most of this year. However, the blogging has been an additional source of enrichment in the process of my spiritual resurgence, and I’ve enjoyed it immensely.

    Interesting idea, Danny – but I’m not really sure how much different that would be compared to what is already going on… Can you elaborate?

  3. Ben Says:

    Resurgence could be the wrong word there. I just felt like I was coming out of a huge dry spell … not one where I felt that God was irrelevant, but more that I was irrelevant to God. I don’t think that makes sense either.


Leave a Reply

