Trouble Brewing?

May 21, 2008

Have you guys seen this?

10 Responses to “Trouble Brewing?”

  1. Danny Slavich Says:

    Yeah. York was my preachin prof this past semester. The SBC’s a nasty place sometimes.

  2. Danny Slavich Says:

    I meant to write “preaching” and when I say “the SBC’s a nasty place”, I mean that there are lots of messed up people (just like any other entity that involves Adam’s fallen children). As far as “trouble brewing”–no, I don’t think so. This is kind of old news, and there’s always someone saying something. Dr. York’s response is very helpful and insightful I think.

  3. Lee Says:

    … lilly-livered letter writer… 🙂 (From the 2nd link.)

    My very limited exposure to big Al leads me to believe that sensitive souls may indeed find him hard to take – his is such a (much) larger-than-life personality. I don’t doubt that some have been insulted by him: this happens all the time in academia. Hopefully it happens less at SBC than in secular institutions. But I can see that he would engender the reactions which inspired both writers – and that it could all truly amount to much ado about nothing.

  4. Ben Says:

    Oh, I don’t know … I think Christian institutions are more vulnerable to hurt feelings and one-upmanship than secular ones … because they probably take what they do much more seriously. In a secular job, most people are just doing it for the money … but who becomes a seminary professor for the money?

    I know I saw enough of this kind of politics at Biola / Talbot to be more than a little disillusioned. Maybe SBTS doesn’t have the same problems, though …

  5. Ben Says:

    “preachin”: well, you’re in Kentucky, aren’t you? I wouldn’t be surprised to see “Preachin 301: Gittin around to sayin sumthin” on the syllabus …

  6. Lee Says:

    more vulnerable to hurt feelings and one-upmanship – could be… but does anyone go into academia for the money? If you were comparing the politics and in-fighting in the business world vs. seminary, that would definitely be different. I don’t know about secular academia vs. Christian…

    Speaking of one-upmanship – have you read Stephen Potter’s books on Gamesmanship? Funny stuff 🙂

  7. Ben Says:

    I’ve heard of them, they sound funny. I think they’re going to make a movie of one of them?

    Academia vs. seminaria: Yeah, not sure about that. I’ve had, I suppose, a somewhat limited experience. I was just trying to comment, I guess on something I’ve noticed in the missions / ministry / seminary world — that people don’t get rich or famous or anything from being in ministry, with a very few exceptions. All those things that reward people at a regular job — in general — just aren’t there, but those selfish desires don’t just disappear, they get pushed under the surface.

    So, not only will a person in that situation be desiring things that are, on the surface, banned in his/her profession (fame, prestige, power), which will end up happening in other, more insidious ways; but also, if the sole reason they’re doing anything (that is, the value of their work) is perceived to be threatened, they’ll be that much more vulnerable to being hurt / angry / retaliatory.

  8. Lee Says:

    A movie of Potter’s books? That would be… interesting. I can’t imagine a Hollywood studio taking on Potter – the BBC probably could, of course.

  9. Ben Says:

    I guess there was one already … in the 1960s, called “School for Scoundrels”. I think I might have been confused, I think I must have stumbled onto the existence of that film (and Potter’s works) because I read an article about it being much better than the barely-related recent film of the same title. It stars Ian Carmichael, whom I like … I think he played Bertie in the “World of Wooster” series (which I haven’t seen).


Leave a Reply

